Skip to main content

Web Content Display Web Content Display


Web Content Display Web Content Display

logo Polskiej Akademii Umiejętności

The Academy of Arts and Sciences was established in 1872, following reorganization of the Krakow Society of Science that operated since 1815. Although its operation was formally limited to the territory occupied by Austria, the Academy played the role of a nation-wide scientific and cultural institution. After World War I, renamed the Polish Academy of Arts And Sciences, it became a national, state-supported official institution representing Polish science, also in the international community of scientific organizations, e.g. as a founding member of the Union Académique Internationale. 

The Polish Academy of Arts And Sciences consists of 6 Classes: Philology, History and Philosophy, Sciences and Technology, Natural Sciences, Medicine and Artistic Creativity.

The PAAS Classes constitute an important opinion-making forum in science, but its principal corporate activity is conducted by its Commissions. 39 Commissions are operating at present. They group researchers in various academic disciplines, predominantly from outside the PAAS. Most Commissions (23) are affiliated with the Classes, meaning that their nature of activity is defined by the research profile of their Class, and that they are managed by the Classes. 

In 2017, the PAAS established its Commission on Media Studies, “as a manifestation of scholarly reflection on the vibrant growth of digital technologies, new methods of communicating and transmitting information, and the way the media function in society”.

Its work concentrates on the immanent and holistic study of the media, including theories of the media, media history, and how the media creates, processes, and transmits knowledge in the process of communication.

Detailed information about the Commission’s activity is provided at: